North Carolina Gatorade POY: Morgan Reid

The Gatorade Company, in collaboration with USA TODAY High School Sports, announced Morgan Reid of Cardinal Gibbons High School as its 2013-14 Gatorade North Carolina Girls Soccer Player of the Year. Reid is the first Gatorade North Carolina Girls Soccer Player of the Year to be chosen from Cardinal Gibbons High School.

The award, which recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the field, distinguishes Reid as North Carolina’s best high school girls soccer player.

The 5-foot-6 senior midfielder has led the Crusaders to a 20-1-2 record and a berth in the Class 3A East State Tournament quarterfinals against Chapel Hill High, scheduled for May 21. Reid scored 22 goals and passed for nine assists through 21 games, missing the first two state tournament games to participate in a training camp with the U.S. Soccer Under-20 Women’s National Team. A two-time club Youth All-American selection by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America, she is also a two-time Class 3A First Team All-State honoree. She entered the postseason with 56 goals and 50 assists in her prep soccer career.

Reid has maintained an A average in the classroom. A student ambassador at Cardinal Gibbons, she has volunteered locally with Adopt-A-Family, providing goods and gifts to underprivileged families, and as a youth basketball referee.

“Morgan Reid is a great player,” said Scott Summers, head coach of Hunt High. “She reads the field really well, she makes quick decisions and is very vocal.”

Reid has signed a National Letter of Intent to play soccer on an athletic scholarship at Duke University this fall.

Reid joins recent Gatorade North Carolina Girls Soccer Players of the Year Alexis Shaffer (2012-13 & 2011-12, Green Hope High School), Caroline Lindquist (2010 – 11, Ravenscroft School), Mollie Pathman (2009-10 & 2008–09, Durham Academy), Nicole Danford (2007-08, Green Hope), and Nicole Panek (2006-2007, Mount Tabor) among the state’s list of former award winners.

Updated: May 21, 2014

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *